Home Updates Interviews Reviews Releases Calendar Forum About Contact


Lock Up is a grindcore side project of mammoth proportions consisting of a who’s who in the underground metal realm, as Shane Embury (Napalm Death), Tomas Lindberg (At the Gates), Nick Barker (Cradle of Filth, Dimmu Borgir), and Anton Reisenegger (replacing the late Jesse Pintado) have joined forces once again to showcase how to efficiently annihilate everything in your path (“Anvil of Flesh”). Hyper speed drums and frantic guitar and bass runs dominate this all-star squad’s abrasive 16-track exercise in extreme, fusing grindcore speed with death metal ferocity to form a block of blistering brutality that doesn’t let up an inch (“Through The Eyes of My Shadow Self”). Throw in a couple of cameos by Hypocrisy/Pain mainman (and one time Lock Up vocalist) Peter Tägtgren and Jeff Walker (Carcass, Brujeria) and this disc becomes a staggering must-have disc for all fans of metal in its most devastating increments.
- Mike SOS