Home Updates Interviews Reviews Releases Calendar Forum About Contact


It took seven years, but the Singapore metal outfit Meltgsnow has finally released a follow-up to their 2003 debut with the 10-track BLACK PENANCE. This troupe explores a wealth of styles to comprise their sound, ranging from shrieking black metal to chunky Gothic metal (“Crown of Serpents”) while tossing a slew of influences from classic metal and death metal in between. Creating engaging compositions with discernibly dark and foreboding tones (“Empty Sky”), Meltgsnow juxtaposes the wares of King Diamond, Moonspell, Satyricon, and 36 Crazyfists together, concocting an unpredictably unique entity with an unmistakable metallic edge and an undercurrent of dread.
- Mike SOS